The Circulation Management Association of Canada

Logo for CMC, the Circulation Management Association of Canada


The CMC, Circulation Management Association of Canada, began in 1981 as a non-profit organization formed to help circulation professionals by providing training and professional development.

Before the CMC, there were no formal circulation training programs in Canada and very few circulation-specific seminars. The CMC brought in top circulation leaders from Canada and across the continent to share their expertise.

Membership grew steadily, and in 1985 the CMC began publishing The Circulator, the only Canadian publication written for circulation professionals.

In 1989, the CMC Scholarship was established to allow Canadian circulators to attend major publishing-related programs.

In 1992, the CMC was one of the founding associations behind the MAGS University conference. In 1997, the CMC established the CMC Awards to recognize outstanding achievement in circulation marketing. And in 2000, the CMC announced the Magazine Marketer of the Year Award.

The CMC was run by a board of elected volunteers. Its mission remained the same since its inception: “To provide professional development, promote fellowship within the circulation profession and to raise the profile of circulation professionals by rewarding outstanding achievement.”

In June 2017, the CMC merged with Magazines Canada, making a longstanding partnership between the two organizations permanent. CMC members receive access to Magazines Canada’s professional development events and services, and can elect to join a renewed and empowered Circulation Marketing Advisory Committee which advises Magazines Canada Board and staff on professional development (including the MagNet conference), awards programs, and research.

The CMC Awards

Formerly called the ACE Awards, the CMC Awards were established in 1997 to recognize and honour excellent circulation work in the Canadian publishing industry. As the voice of audience development, the CMC honoured outstanding achievements by circulation professionals in the following categories:

  • Audience Development: Recognizing outstanding work in a circulation campaign.
  • Volunteer of the Year: Recognizing the outstanding achievement of an individual volunteer who has served the publishing industry in Canada by advancing audience development practices.
  • Lifetime Achievement: Honouring an individual in the Canadian publishing industry for a body of work that represents an extraordinary legacy of achievement in magazine marketing.
  • CMC Scholarship Award: A $5,000 bursary to go towards professional development.
  • Vendor Award: Recognizing the outstanding contribution of an individual working with a vendor in support of the Canadian publishing industry—a remarkable person who helps magazine circulation experts excel at what they do.
  • Magazine of the Year: Recognizing outstanding achievement in overall performance, consistent with ongoing promotional efforts that combined to reach stated circulation goals.

Past CMC Award Winners

2017 CMC Award Winners

Audience Development 2017 – Canada’s History
Magazine of the Year 2017 – Canadian Woodworking
Vendor of the Year 2017 – Mark Wade, Interprovincial Group
Vendor of the Year 2017 – Colleen Moloney, CM Group
Lifetime Achievement Award 2017 – Tom Worsel

2016 CMC Award Winners

Audience Development 2016 – Canada’s History
Vendor of the Year 2016 – Cindy Chang
Scholar Recipient 2016 – Fiona Wong
Magazine of the Year 2016 – Outdoor Canada
Lifetime Achievement Award 2016 – Mark Hamill

2015 CMC Award Winners

Audience Development 2015 – Bronze Winner: Zoomer, Online Conversions; Silver Winner: MoneySense, 2015 Web Campaign; Gold Winner: Today’s Parent, Walmart Canada Baby Registry Program
Vendor of the Year 2015 – Michael Fong, Assistant Category Manager, Books & Magazines, Shopper’s Drug Mart
Volunteer of the Year 2015 – Arlene Shepard, Vice President, Press Management, Gateway Newsstands
Scholarship Recipient 2015 – Steve Rosling, Account Executive, Coast to Coast
Magazine of the Year 2015 – Ricardo
Lifetime Achievement Award 2015 – Sarah Watt, Abacus Circulation

Past Winners of the Magazine Marketer of the Year Award

Alex Cooper, 2000
Micheal Fox, 2001
Terri DeRose, 2002
Scott Bullock, 2003
Darlene Storey, 2004
Greg Keilty, 2005
Caren King (posthumously) & Terry Sellwood, 2006
Tracey McKinley, 2007
Nancy McCollum, 2008
Sue Phillips, 2009
Jon Spencer, 2011
Jason Patterson, 2012
Ron Sellwood, 2013

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Glenn Morgan, 2014
Sarah Watt, 2015
Mark Hamill, 2016

Past Scholarship Winners

Eithne McCreadie, 1989
Janice Lanigan, 1990
Mindy Tenenbaum, 1991
Anne Yendall, 1992
Saundra Dobroski, 1993
Bridget Saunders, 1994
Barb McKenzie, 1995
Kate MacDougall, 1996
Sarah Lank, 1997
Wayne Leek, 1998
Ines Morcillo, 2000
Gino Auddino, 2001
Dinah Laprairrie, 2002
Julie Shreve, 2003
Kim Rattray, 2004
Tuppy Blair, 2005
Zenalyn Habito, 2006
Chris Ellis, 2007
Danielle Chartier, 2008
Kate Mills, 2009
Sharlene Clarke, 2010
Amanda Beattie, 2011
Olena Dingeldein, 2012
Louay Kanafani, 2013
Kathryn Eves, 2014
Steve Rosling, 2015
Fiona Wong, 2016

The Circulator

« of 12 »

Photo Galleries

CMC Awards 2017

« of 2 »

Cover Awards 2016

« of 2 »

CMC Awards 2016

« of 2 »

MagNet 2016

There is no gallery selected or the gallery was deleted.

Newsstand Seminar 2016

CMC Awards 2015

« of 4 »

Cover Awards 2015

Newsstand Seminar 2015

CMC Fall Social 2015

« of 2 »

Axe-Throwing Social 2015

« of 5 »

Wine and Cheese Social 2014

CMC Awards 2013

« of 2 »

Cover Awards 2013

« of 2 »

Wine and Cheese Social 2013

Ping Pong Social 2013

Pool Social 2012

Pool Social 2011

« of 2 »

Newsstand Awards 2011

« of 2 »

CMC Reception at MagNet 2011

CMC ACE Awards Luncheon at MagNet 2011

CMC Summer Social 2011 (30th Anniversary)

« of 2 »

Pool Social 2010

« of 3 »

Newsstand Awards 2010

« of 2 »

CMC Reception at MagNet 2010

« of 2 »

CMC ACE Awards Luncheon at MagNet 2010