Retailer of the Year Award

The Magazines Canada Retailer of the Year Award recognizes the importance of good stores in the Canadian magazine landscape. It is awarded annually to an outstanding Magazines Canada retailer who actively cultivates the connection between consumers and Canadian magazines.

2015: Munro’s Books, Victoria, BC

Magazines Canada is pleased to announce that Munro’s Books is the Magazines Canada Retailer of the Year for 2015!

Co-owner Ian Cochran, along with Sarah Frye, Carol Mentha and principal owner Jessica Walker, was pleased to add the Retailer of the Year award to another recent accolade from none other than National Geographic: in their 2015 book Destinations of a Lifetime, Munro’s was #3 on a list of their top 10 bookstores in the world!

From the National Geographic citation: “In 1963, exactly a half century before she won the Nobel Prize in literature, Alice Munro cofounded a bookstore with her then husband, Jim. Munro’s has since moved into a magnificent, neoclassical former bank, decorated with gorgeous fabrics, in Old Town, Victoria, British Columbia.”

Open at its first of three locations on Yates Street in 1963, the store watched as the neighbourhood changed and the library and movie theatres that were the anchors moved away and, in 1979, Munro’s followed the pedestrian traffic flow to a new location on 4th Street. This is where Cochran joined the staff just before the move in 1984 to its current location on Government Street.

When asked about the role of magazines at the store, Cochran said this could be dated back to the early 1990s: Munro’s added magazines “when Chapters came to town in order to compete with them.” The store has been a great seller of Canadian magazines and literary magazines in particular, and a great support of Magazines Canada’s promotions over the years.

Congratulations to Munro’s from all of us at Magazines Canada!

Past Winners

2014: Type Books, Queen Street West, Toronto, ON

2013: Salt Spring Books, Salt Spring Island, BC

2012: Read’s Newsstand and Café, Fredericton, New Brunswick

2011: Book City Toronto, Danforth

2010: McNally Robinson

2009: Spruceland News

2008: Mags & Fags

2007: Atlantic News

Retailer of the Year Award Eligibility

Magazines Canada recognizes the critical role retailers play in the Canadian magazine landscape. Our annual Retailer of the Year Award is just one of the ways we celebrate and congratulate you, the retailer, for your partnership.

Research confirms time and again that Canadians will buy Canadian magazines when they can find them and retailers are, of course, an integral part in cultivating this connection between readers and magazines. Outstanding retailers not only facilitate the relationship between consumers and their magazines by making quality Canadian titles readily available to the public, but they also know their customers, are willing to try new magazines on their shelves and maintain a steady supply of those trusted, established titles.

The Retailer of the Year is a visionary, a connoisseur and a vital link in Canada’s vibrant magazine industry.


Must be a client of Magazines Canada’s Distribution Service (minimum of 1 year)

Criteria for Retailers

  • Current with their payments
  • Interested in carrying our titles and willing to try new ones
  • Timely and organized returns
  • Helps to promote Magazines Canada titles
  • Active participant in Newsstand Marketing Program and/or shows support by using promotional materials: signage, backer cards, stickers/decals, etc.

Supplementary Criteria

  • Collaborative
  • Reorders stock when sold out
  • Knowledgeable about MC and its magazines
  • Demonstrates a commitment to Canadian magazines

There is a two-year provincial moratorium after a retailer wins. For instance, in 2008, Mags & Fags in Ottawa, Ontario was named Retailer of the Year; therefore retailers from Ontario are ineligible until 2011. (Sorry, Ontario, nothin’ personal!)


All nominating is done internally by Magazines Canada Distribution Staff. MC Distribution staff will produce a short list of retailers who they feel are worthy of the Retailer of the Year honour according to the listed criteria. Staff will discuss their relationship with the retailers and refine their list of worthy candidates until a clear winner is chosen. All decisions are final.


The Retailer of the Year Award is announced and presented at MagNet, Canada’s Magazine Conference, in June.